Holy Brownie Batter, Batman!

I received a request for baked goods in the shape of the Batman symbol. To which I said, “uh, YES!”

So I hopped on Amazon and found this awesome invention:

batman2

batman1

Yes, Justice will be served….along with some cookies….and perhaps and glass of milk!

The requester didn’t specifically ask for brownies, but I’m still shopping for the perfect brownie recipes, so I thought, “Brownie Batmans!”

I used this brownie recipe over on Handle the Heat for the first time. It promises “chewy, but not raw batter.” Yes, that’s what I need. They came our of the oven GORGEOUS, with a beautiful glossy crust on top, and my tester toothpick came out with just a few non-goopey crumbles.

batmanbrownies1Last time I made brownies, we tried to cut and serve them while they were still pretty warm. This time, with that cookie cutter in mind, I let them cool for several hours. Really. At least 2. I touched the top of them, and they felt cool. The pan felt cool. Ok great, time to make NANANANANANA BATMAN!

Then, disaster struck Gotham.

batmanbrownies2

These were the remnants.

batmanbrownies3

Out of that WHOLE PAN, this is what I managed to get. Four pathetic, crumpled bat signals.

batmanbrownies4

This was my most successful one.

The next day, after they’d cooled and settled overnight, they were ok. I still didn’t love them. They were not the brownies that Gotham needed.

So I’ve come to the conclusion that what I’m really pining for is CAKEY brownies. Brownies that I can successfully eat while they’re still warm. Is that such a crime? Everybody seems to be down on cakey brownies. Well I’m going to make me my own brownie recipe, that I can eat straight out of the oven. Darn it.

Leave a Reply

